We’re Back


Well-Known Member
Hyundai A-League to resume on July 16 in Melbourne
The Hyundai A-League 2019/20 season is set to resume on Thursday, 16 July 2020 with Melbourne Victory taking on Western United at AAMI Park in Melbourne.

The match between the Victorian rivals will kick-start an unprecedented run of Hyundai A-League match play, with the remaining 27 games of the regular season to be held over an action-packed 28-day period before the end of season Finals Series.

On Monday, FFA, together with the Australian Professional Football Clubs Association (APFCA) and Professional Footballers Australia (PFA), finalised an agreement to extend the Hyundai A-League 2019/20 season through to, at latest, Monday, 31 August 2020.

With that agreement now in place, FFA confirmed that it has several draw options ready to be actioned, however all options commence with Grant Brebner’s bow as Melbourne Victory Head Coach up against Mark Rudan’s Western United in the middle of next month.

“We have developed multiple draw options for the completion of the regular season,” FFA’s Head of Leagues, Greg O’Rourke, explained. “All options commence with Victory taking on Western United at AAMI Park followed by a game between the table topping Sydney FC against third-placed Wellington Phoenix at Netstrata Jubilee Stadium the following day.”

“The reason for having multiple draw options – which our clubs are across – is due to the fact that over the next few weeks there may be additional relaxations in border restrictions and travel movements in Australia, which may enable our clubs from Victoria, Queensland and South Australia to remain and play in their home cities, rather than relocating to New South Wales to complete the season.

“Regardless of which option we ultimately take, Wellington Phoenix and Perth Glory FC understand that they will complete the remainder of their regular season matches in New South Wales, with games to be played at Bankwest Stadium in Parramatta, Netstrata Jubilee Stadium in Kogarah, and McDonald Jones Stadium in Newcastle.

“We are confident that we will be able to release the revised draw for the completion of the Hyundai A-League 2019/20 season soon,” he said.

Hyundai A-League clubs will be free to return to training from tomorrow onwards subsequent to the successful completion of COVID-19 medical screenings and the implementation of operational plans to minimise the risk of infection at their training sites and club facilities.

With key milestones being met, FFA will continue to work collaboratively with the competition’s long-term partner and host broadcaster, Fox Sports, regarding the broadcast arrangements to complete the season.

Positively, O’Rourke explained that changes to the Federal Government’s rules for crowds in Stadiums, which will come into effect from Wednesday, 1 July 2020, would likely enable the season to be completed with fans in the stands.

“Last Friday our Prime Minister, Scott Morrison, announced that Stadiums with capacities of 40,000 people or fewer could be permitted to host up to 10,000 people,” he added.

“We will continue to work closely with the Federal and State Governments, as well as our venues, to consider how we can accommodate as many club members and fans as possible at matches when the competition resumes.

“With our Finals Series still the best part of two months away, we are keen to keep our options and thinking open regarding how and where that may be held.

“Leading our decision-making in August be how we may be able to maximise the experience for members, fans, and commercial and broadcast partners, and rewarding the club that wins the right to host the Grand Final, subject to travel restrictions at the time,” he said.


Active Member
Worth keeping an eye on how this unfolds - the Melbourne Storm just got relocated due to the rona spike in Victoria. Unsure how it will affect return plans, it's a waiting game right now.


Well-Known Member
It's almost certain to impact the Victory v WU home game IMO. May see them leaving sooner to avoid infection risks or might not even be able to play/train there if lock downs come back in VIC.


Well-Known Member
Anyone heard anything about a schedule yet? There was that article that said Mariners v Perth 18th July (would you believe I'm already booked up that day!), but that's all I've seen so far


Well-Known Member
Only round 1 info floating around so far from what a I’ve heard. I believe round 2 venues were up in the air for a few teams depending on travel restrictions closer to the day.


Well-Known Member
A bit of a complication - for all codes

Queensland sporting teams across all codes must quarantine for 14 days if they play a Melbourne team in Qld, play a match in Melbourne, or play in another state against a team who has been in Melbourne in the preceding 14 days according to QLD Health today


Well-Known Member
I can't see the Vic teams staying down there, they're going to have to move to a hub location at least for the moment. The minute one player or staff member tests positive it will jeopardize finishing the season. 2.5 weeks until the season return and those cases will continue to rise. Any tougher action taken now will take a week or two to be reflected in figures so just get out of there and ensure players are monitored & tested. Very little chance of playing at home with a crowd.


Well-Known Member

July 16: Melbourne Victory vs Western United

July 17: Sydney FC vs Wellington Phoenix

July 18: Perth Glory vs Central Coast Mariners

July 19: Brisbane Roar vs Adelaide United

July 20: Western United vs Melbourne City

July 21: Sydney FC vs Newcastle Jets

July 22: Western Sydney Wanderers vs Melbourne Victory

July 23: Perth Glory vs Wellington Phoenix

July 24: Central Coast Mariners vs Newcastle Jets

July 25: Sydney FC v Western United

July 26: Wellington Phoenix v Adelaide United

July 27: Central Coast Mariners v Western Sydney Wanderers

July 28: Melbourne Victory v Brisbane Roar

July 30: Adelaide United v Perth Glory

July 31: Western Sydney Wanderers v Wellington Phoenix

August 1: Melbourne City v Sydney FC

August 2: Newcastle Jets v Western United

August 3: Melbourne Victory v Central Coast Mariners

August 4: Western Sydney Wanderers v Perth Glory

August 5: Wellington Phoenix v Brisbane Roar

August 6: Adelaide United v Sydney FC

August 7: Western United v Western Sydney Wanderers

August 8: Perth Glory v Melbourne Victory

August 9: Newcastle Jets v Wellington Phoenix

August 10: Brisbane Roar v Sydney FC

August 11: Melbourne City v Adelaide United

August 12: Perth Glory v Western United

Elimination finals

August 15: Team 4 v Team 5 or Team 3 v Team 6

August 16: Team 4 v Team 5 or Team 3 v Team 6


August 19: 1 v Lowest Ranked EF Winner or 2 v Highest Ranked EF Winner

August 20: 1 v Lowest Ranked EF Winner or 2 v Highest Ranked EF Winner

Grand Final

August 23: Winners Semi-Final v Winner Semi-Final 2